December ’15 Birchbox Review 1: Jane Iredale Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain

IMG_3091
Can I just say this is the fanciest teeny lip sample?!

It seems like ever since Korean beauty came onto the American scene, everyone is coming out with their version of color smart lip and cheek stains. Though I love makeup, most days I wear a very low-key look instead of a full face. I work from home and only fix myself up whenever I’m on assignment or I’m going out with friends and family, so I welcome these type of makeup items.

The Jane Iredale brand is new to Birchbox, and I hadn’t heard of it before I got it in December’s box. I took a look at its website and it looks like they’re one of the first mineral makeup companies to come on the scene in 1994. I’m fond of mineral makeup, as it saved my skin when I was a teenager with super oily skin that was extra sensitive because of the meds I was taking for breakouts.

The Just Kissed Lip and Cheek Stain (USD $25.00) is described as “a lip and cheek stain that provides long-lasting, custom color to the lips and cheek.” It comes in three colors: Forever Red, Forever Peach, and Forever Pink. I received the peach colored stain.

Clearly, the sample I received was a baby lipstick sample size, not the full size. Let’s be real: $25 for a teeny little lipstick would be ridiculous, but this is a great size for a sample, because it gives you just enough product for multiple uses so you can decide if you really like the product. And it’s small enough that if you don’t like it, you don’t feel guilty tossing it.

Even though this is a sample, I have to give Jane Iredale kudos for using quality packaging that’s very similar to the packaging of the full size product. If even the sample looks and feels luxe, you can imagine that the full version is a quality product.

While I love lip and cheek stains, the struggle has always been finding a stain that actually works well on both the lips and face. Most of the time, a product will work better as one or the other. I’ve come to expect this from most stains, but I get excited about the prospect of finding one that actually serves its dual purpose well.

IMG_3140
The lip and cheek stain after I first applied. Holy pigment, Batman!

The orange color in the tube is a little intimidating, but keep in mind that most stains adjust to your skin tone and look very natural. I was really impressed with the pigmentation on first application. You really just need a swipe of this to get the pretty flush effect. This is great, because you really get your moneys worth from the full size. The peach color did give a pinky-peach flush that I really loved and looked great on my tan skin. I’m not sure if this particular shade would show up on deeper skin tones, but going on the strength of the pigmentation I’d guess that the red one would work well.

I have to say, this is the first stain that really does work on both the lips AND cheeks. On the lips, it goes on like a lip balm and settles on the lips in a really great way. The product is really hydrating, so no drying out or enhanced lip lines here! The one thing I didn’t like was that when I reapplied, I did notice some bunching up of the color. This is a problem I experience with a lot of stains and isn’t a deal breaker for me, but it’s something to note. It’s completely fixable, too. I recommend completely wiping the lips of old product before reapplying to avoid this issue.

On the face, the product does start out a little waxy/ tacky, but as you blend it in (I used a beauty blender) and the product settles, the texture goes way, leaving your skin feeling natural and soft. This could be because of all the natural oils in the product that help the beeswax sit nicely on the skin.

Speaking of ingredients, this product is packed with natural ingredients. I looked over the list and couldn’t find anything super problematic. The one warning I’d give is that it does contain a hefty amount of natural oils. This is something to look out for if you do have oily skin or are very prone to breakouts. Oily skin may also make it difficult for the product to stay in place. You may just want to stick to using this on the lips. Personally, my skin is a little dryer on my cheeks and I don’t break out on the apples, so I was able to use this multiple times without problems.

As for staying power, on the lips it was pretty standard. With talking, eating, and drinking I had to reapply after meals and then about every 4 hours. Not the longest lasting, but not a total disaster.

I decided to really put this baby to the test and wore it on my weekly 5k run to see just how long lasting it was on the face. I gotta say, I applied this on my cheeks at 10 am, wore it at home while working, ran errands, and then did a 5k plus weight training. Come 9 pm, the product was still on my face with about 80% of the color remaining.

That is impressive. So while it may not be super long lasting on the lips (but really, other than liquid lipsticks, what is?), it definitely holds up on the cheeks.

Rating: 4.5/5. This is a stunning product. It’s up there in price, but I’m very impressed that this actually works well both on the face and the lips. The pigmentation is pretty and does adjust well to skin tones, though those with deeper skin may want to try out the red color first. It does moisturize the lips and sit well on the cheeks. Watch out for the oils, if you have oily/acne prone skin. I’m just docking a teeny half a point for the color bunching problem, but again this is simply something you’re going to get with all stains. Maybe someone will figure out the magic formula.

If you’re interested in trying Birchbox, feel free to use my referral code. If you feel weird about it, no worries. Just head straight over to their site to sign up.

Leave a Reply

