December ’15 Birchbox Review 5: JUARA Coconut Illipe Hand and Nail Balm

IMG_3088
TBH, one of the best sweeter scented hand creams ever.

Cold weather for me means dry hands. They’ll feel gross, crack, and feel all kinds of tight and painful. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve found that I need to add a hand cream to my daily skincare routine year round. My all-time favorite hand cream has been discontinued (noooo!) and just as I was squeezing the last remnants out of the tube this Birchbox arrived!

The good people at Birchbox included this JUARA Coconut Illipe Hand & Nail Balm (USD $20.00 for 2.5 oz) in the Winter Essentials box. I loved products from JUARA I’ve tried in the past, so I had high expectations going into this.

I just want to say that this is a really good sized and well packaged sample. I used it twice a day every day, and it lasted me a full month. Since its so moisturizing, you really don’t need a ton of product to get the job done. The full size is in the same packaging, which is great because we all know how I feel about jar packaging for skincare products. The lotion will be well protected against the elements and from bacteria, keeping your skin free from breakouts and the product effective for its entire use.

The big struggle with hand cream is finding one with the perfect balance of being very moisturizing without feeling incredibly heavy. That’s what kept me from using hand cream as a teenager (which I regret…preventative care is so important, y’all). It’s what I loved about my now defunct Davines Hand Cream. JUARA’s is pretty good on this front. I don’t feel like I have this gloppy greasy mess coating my hands. However, it’s still a little too heavy feeling for my liking. I didn’t mind this at night, but during the day it did feel slightly uncomfortable while I was waiting for the cream to sink in. Still, it’s not super gross feeling.

The scent is really appealing. It’s a soft coconut and vanilla smell. It doesn’t smell overwhelmingly sweet, like some sweet scented creams. Personally, I prefer unscented or neutrally scented body and hand lotions, but this was perfectly fine.

Like a lot of JUARA’s skincare products, this one is effective. It kept my hands very well hydrated and took care of any super dry/cracked areas. The product talks about having a plumping effect, but I can’t really speak to that. I’m 27 and my hands are still young looking. I didn’t feel any skin plumping effect, but I can say that my hands looked and felt well hydrated.

Rating: 4/5. This is a great option if you’re in the market for a hand cream. Is it going to be the one to take the place of my beloved? No. The texture is just too heavy for me to fully invest. But do I think this could work for others? Absolutely. For $20, I think it’s worth trying out.

If you’d like to try out Birchbox, follow the link to sign up!

Leave a Reply

