December ’15 Ipsy Review 2: Pacifica Power of Love Natural Lipstick

IMG_3096
This color is not as dark as it appears.

If I had to say which makeup product I hoard, I’d hands down have to give it to lippies (sticks, balms, stains, etc.). Lip colors are just a great way to change up your look quickly. Because of Kylie Jenner and the rest of the Kardashian clan, nude and brown toned lips are all the rage. Finding the perfect nude for my skin tone is tricky business. I’m not pale enough for some of the “nudes” out there, but other nudes are more suited to chocolate skinned folks. Sometimes, being in the middle sucks.

Ipsy included this Power of Love Lipstick from Pacifica (USD $10.00, full size) in the color Tender Heart. I love the Pacifica brand and hadn’t tried any of their lipsticks yet. That and the fact that they included a full sized item got me all excited. When I saw that Ipsy had sent this shade, I was keeping my fingers crossed that it would be a great nude.

For $10, you get a ton of product. The ingredient list delivers on Pacifica’s all natural promise. Oh, the people at Pacifica are so good! I’m always rooting for all natural makeup to do well, though there have been more misses than hits, in my experience.

From the outside, the color looks like it’s going to be a natural tan/brown. Seeing it from the outside, I was a little scared it might be too muted to work well with my complexion. However, when I swatched it, the color was a surprising pinky nude. Now having seen the swatch, I was scared it would be too light. Oh, the joys of finding a nude lipstick as a person of color.

IMG_3145
Hey, hey! We have a match!

Thankfully, when I put this on, it was a great match! It had just enough pink undertones to break up the brown in the color. I was very much in love. However, I have to note that even though this works as a nude for me now, come summer time it’s going to be too light to work with my complexion. Totally fine. I’ll just wear the hell out of it before I go on vacation.

As for formula, this is one of the better natural lip products that I’ve tried. The problems I’ve encountered with the all natural brands is that their lip formulas will break up in chunks during the day. Not cute. They’re also sometimes hard to apply evenly. Also not cute. No one wants globby looking lips.

Pacifica didn’t have that issue. It applied pretty evenly in one stroke. I wouldn’t say this is a completely opaque product. It’s more of a light cream formula, which is perfect for everyday wear or those days where you don’t want to wear makeup, but want to swipe some color on your lips.

The product’s smell is a little weird. Not bad, just odd. It kind of reminds me of the smell of natural wet clay, which brings back childhood memories for me. We had a children’s museum that had an exhibit on Native Americans where we got to make things out of clay. Anyway, I looked at the ingredients and couldn’t find clay in there, so no fear about his drying out your lips.

The formula is actually pretty moisturizing, but I always recommend wearing lip balm underneath. It’ll keep your lips looking nice and full.

Lasting power was fair. I had to reapply every 2-3 hours and after meals, which is pretty great for a natural formula. Overall, I’m very happy with everything.

Rating: 5/5. This is a wonderful affordable option from a natural makeup line. The color is a nice pinky nude that will work for a good variety of skin shades. They do have other more “natural” colors ranging from soft reds, brown pinks, and soft corals. If you’re looking for a good natural lipstick, this may be a good place to start.

If you’d like to subscribe to Ipsy, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

