December ’15 Boxycharm Review 4: Nelson J Argan Oil Moisture Healing Mask

IMG_3136
Ah, yet another hair conditioning treatment. Because those never get old…

I wasn’t kidding when I said December subscriptions were flooded with hair conditioning treatments. I really need these subscriptions to stop sending these for a good 6 months. Boxycharm does send full size items, but the downside is if it doesn’t work out you’re stuck with a full size product you’ll never use.

I personally don’t like passing on stuff that isn’t good and feel super guilty when the day comes for me to toss something. Anyway, that’s neither here nor there.

I tried to make the best of having to test out another conditioning treatment. Like I’ve said before, absolutely nothing has beaten my amika/coconut oil treatment combination. Argan oil products are, however, also good options. I use to be obsessed with Argan oil back in the day when I discovered it in France. This was before the haircare aisle was practically spammed with the stuff. But it’s there for a good reason. It does work. For some people, it’s a holy grail. For me, it’s great but I much prefer pure coconut oil.

This Argan Oil 7 Moisture Healing Mask from Nelson J Beverly Hills (USD $23.00 for 3.4 oz or $59 for 16 oz.) looked promising. It claims to have 100% Argan oil plus some other goodies to repair hair. Seems standard, but for a $23.00 price point I do expect great results.

The texture seems fairly standard. It isn’t super creamy or runny. But I know too well that texture can be deceiving. Some of the lightest feeling formulas have left my hair a greasy mess. The smell is also amazing! The mask is coconut scented without being chemically.

What I really liked about it is that it came with instructions on three different ways to use it: pre-wash, deep conditioning, and swim protection.

I decided to do the prewash treatment, where you put it on for 7 to 10 minutes before shampooing and conditioning. I was a little worried that this would lead to over conditioned hair, but I could always rewash if that happened. The deep conditioning method also seemed neat, but I don’t have a few hours to spend under a heat source.

I followed my routine per instructions: wore the mask for 10 minutes, did NOT rinse out, and went straight into shampoo and conditioning.

You know what, as I styled I was incredibly impressed with how soft and renewed my hair felt. My roots also didn’t feel weighed down and greasy. This is everything I want in a hair mask. I really felt like my hair got a mini makeover.

Now, does this beat out my beloved amika mask? It’s pretty freaking close. But all in all, I still prefer amika’s. Still, once I finish up my latest tub I will definitely be going through this bad boy.

What intrigues me is their suggestion that you can use this mask to protect your hair while you’re swimming at the pool/beach. Nelson J suggests putting this mask on wet hair during your beach day so it won’t be so damaged from chlorine and sea salt. Whenever I go on a beach vacation, my hair does take a beating because I love swimming in the ocean each day and have to wash it more often.

When summer comes up, I’m absolutely going to take some of this mask with me and see if it helps protect it against the damage from sea salt exposure and constant washing.

Rating: 5/5. This is a great hair mask. It is up there in price, but you’re going to get a solid product out of it. While it doesn’t beat out my amika mask, if you’re someone who isn’t a huge fan of that particular brand and want to find a different formula around the same price point, I’d say this Nelson J mask is the way to go.

If you’d like to try Boxycharm, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

