January 2016 Birchbox Review #4: Goodal Phytowash Yerba Mate Bubble Peeling

IMG_3186
Foil packets are the worst. Why do brands still use them?

Even though I love the current cleansers I’m using, I do like seeing what’s new on the market. I was stoked to see the results of this Yerba Mate Cleansing Foam from Goodal (USD $20.00, full size), but was disappointed to see the sample came in a foil packet. Typically, I can only get one use out of foil packets, and one use is simply not enough to do a proper review. I can say, though, from the ingredients that this does contain a hefty amount of oils, as it’s a hydrating cleanser. So I would be very careful to use this if you have oily skin.

That aside, I also received a foil packet of Goodal’s Yerba Mate Bubble Peeling (USD $33.00, full size). I have no problem reviewing peels after a one time use, as by then I can judge effectiveness and any bad reactions. Still, it would have been nice to get more than a single use foil packet.

Birchbox doesn’t list the ingredients, but I tracked them down on Amazon. I can definitely say that this exfoliator is definitely very natural. Most of the ingredients are derived from plants, seeds, fruits, and flowers. This is great, as I love it when natural products are truly all natural. But again, I have to repeat that natural does not mean non irritating. It’s very important to keep this in mind, as I found some skin irritants in the ingredients. Be wary of  several citric fruit and lavender extracts. Most of the time, these don’t do too much harm, but they can set off some people’s skin. Also, there are a good amount of oils, so be careful if you have a very oily complexion.

To its credit, this exfoliator does contain salicylic acid, which is a phenomenal exfoliant. It’s nice to have it in a cleanser, but I do prefer using products that stay on the skin. Those, I’ve found, are the most effective. Still, it was pretty up there on the ingredient list, which was appreciated.

All the oil extracts are also great for people with dry skin who want to exfoliate but don’t want to be left with parched skin.

This “peel” foams up, much like Dr. Brandt’s oxygen mask, which I really enjoyed. I used it after washing to make sure it exfoliated all the dead skin instead of just makeup residue. I couldn’t really feel it removing the dead skin as I rubbed in the product, so I wasn’t expecting the best results.

But in the end, I did notice that my skin felt softer and smoother. I also noticed less residue on my cotton pad after toning, so it did do its job. Granted, you don’t get the polished skin feeling that you would with a scrub or a traditional peel. I think this could be good for people who want to exfoliate but don’t like that super polished result from more abrasive products.

None of the ingredients broke me out or dried out my skin, but I still think you should be careful of the potential irritants that I noted above.

From this single use, I can’t say with confidence whether this exfoliator is worth the $33 price point. That is really pricey, but it does contain a lot of all natural ingredients and not too many fillers. This is why I don’t like single use samples. I think that in order to get a solid idea of whether or not something is worth the price, you need at least 3 to 5 uses.

Rating: 4/5. Based solely on this one-time use, this was a very gentle yet effective exfoliator. It didn’t leave my skin overly dry, which is good if you have dry skin. However, you need to watch out for the citric fruits and lavender as they can be potentially irritating to some.

If you’d like to try out Birchbox, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

