January 2016 Ipsy Review #5: theBalm Mr. Write (Now) Eyeliner

IMG_3197
Oh, theBalm. I enjoy your clever product names.

Eyeliners in makeup subscriptions can get really annoying, mainly because for a long time companies would only send out black. Don’t get me wrong. Everyone needs at least one good black eyeliner in their stash, but after the 6th or 7th it gets really old. Luckily, theBalm was generous enough to provide Ipsy subscribers two liner options that weren’t black!

I love colored liner, because it lets you define your eyes while getting more playful with the color. Subscribers got either a plum shade or a bronze shade of this new liner from theBalm. I got the shade Jack B. Bronze of the Mr. Write (Now) eyeliner (USD $17.00, full size). Damn, theBalm is super clever when it comes to product names. It also doesn’t hurt that they sent us a full size!

As you can guess from the name, I got the bronze shade. I was stoked, because I don’t have a bronze liner in my collection. I do have a plum purple, because that’s my go-to neutral. I definitely wouldn’t have minded a backup, but I was pleased to get a color I didn’t have. Bronze is a pretty great shade that works with all eye colors and most skin tones, so it’s a good color to choose if you’re just starting to venture into non-black liners.

image
Jack B. Bronze, indeed! Look at that pigmentation.

theBalm rarely misses with their products. They do a phenomenal job with the formula, and this eyeliner is no exception. When I initially swatched it, I immediately noticed that the pigmentation was great. The bronze came off very strong, which is preferable in your colored liner. Still, it’s a soft enough shade that you can do a low-key everyday look or use it to do statement makeup.

Texture is really nice! This is creamy enough that it applies smoothly in one swipe, but not so soft that it melts off of your lids. Still, if you have oily eyelids, best to use a primer with this liner. With my skin type, I was even able to wear this on a bare lid. It lasted most of the day, even through a sweaty workout. At a $17.00 price point, I expect no less from a liner.

image
Loved this eyeliner for tight-lining on my no makeup days. Seriously, here I’m just wearing brow gel and the liner.

The packaging is my preferred for eyeliners: twist-up pencil. When I don’t have to sharpen, I get very excited. There are some great traditional pencil liners out there, but it’s always such a pain in the butt to keep them nice and sharp. Of course, the tip does round as you use it, but luckily it’s fine enough that you can still get precise application use after use.

image
Here, paired with a warm peachy/bronze eye look. This liner was just what I needed to perfect it. (Mascara is CoverGirl Clump Crusher.)

Rating: 5/5. All in all, theBalm delivers yet again. This is a great department store priced eyeliner that’s beautifully formulated and works really well. Pigmentation is off the charts and the twist up packaging means you’ll never have to deal with a sharpener. This eyeliner comes in 8 different colors that you can work into every day looks. So if you’re looking to add some colored liner to your stash, this may be a great place to start.

If you’d like to subscribe to Ipsy, follow the link!

3 thoughts on “January 2016 Ipsy Review #5: theBalm Mr. Write (Now) Eyeliner

  1. I also love TheBalm’s names for everything!!! So clever!!! I followed you and hope you follow back because it looks like we belong to the same types of box subscriptions, I’d love to compare 🙂 Just starting out, so I don’t have much on my blog yet but will be adding lots soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

