February 2016 Birchbox Review #5: ARROW Boost Color Enhancing Lip Balm

image
Guys, GUYS. Birchbox is hitting it out of the park!

We’ve finally reached the whole reason I passed on February’s Editor Box. Ever since Birchbox announced they’d be expanding their own makeup line to include everyday, active makeup I got incredibly excited. I was so impressed with their Love of Color makeup line and thought they’d do a great job with these new products. I watched the previews and thought, “I really want to try this.” When I saw one of the monthly sample choices was a product from the line, all bets were off. I was getting this.

Here is how Birchbox describes their ARROW line:

“Specializing in lightweight, long-wearing makeup and refreshing skincare, Birchbox beauty brand ARROW is designed to keep up with your on-the-go, active life—whether that means going straight from pilates to brunch or just powering through an action-packed, appointment-filled day. Each breathable product creates a fresh, natural, beautiful effect, so you can feel cool and confident from an A.M. gym session to a late-night work session (and everywhere in between).”

In the box this month was the ARROW BOOST Color Enhancing Lip Balm (USD $14.00, full size). For that price, I expect it to be some great lip balm. Not only should it be moisturizing, but it also has to deliver great pigmentation. As you can guess from the name, this lip balm is a “color smart” product, meaning the color on your lips will differ depending on your own body’s pH. So everyone gets a unique color.

image
Here’s the “before” shot of my lips. No pigment, but just a little bit of Aquifer, because they were feeling a wee bit dry. Good thing my nostrils were clean.

As a balm, it’s pretty moisturizing. The balm itself is quite lightweight and doesn’t feel like vaseline on the lips, making it very wearable. It’s also not at all sticky. I wore this to the gym several time and didn’t have the issue of fly-away hair sticking to my lips, like you do with some balms. The moisture won’t last all day and, like most lip balms, you will need to reapply.

This particular balm does have a light minty scent. It isn’t overpowering and I don’t see anything in the ingredients showing that it has peppermint oil, which can be drying, or fragrance, which can cause irritation. I do see some typical emollient seed oils and some hyaluronic acid (score!), as well as mango butter. Vegans should note this does have beeswax.

image
After applying the balm and letting the color set.

The color smart claim is legitimate. After applying the balm, I noticed the color adjusting within 5 seconds. I already have quite pigmented lips, but the color adjusted to a slightly darker, flushed pink. It could pass for being my natural lip color and was lovely.

Being completely honest, I was impressed with the lasting power of the color. It lasted through my whole workout…and I don’t mess around. I was covered in sweat, red in the face, but my lips still looked hydrated and prettily pigmented. This lip balm isn’t going anywhere. I even wore it through showering and it STILL didn’t come off.

The color does fade a bit as the balm wears off with eating and drinking, but will reappear once again when you reapply. Like most tinted balm, do be careful when reapplying because it’s still slightly prone to color build-up in lip lines from the wax collecting there. Just a quick swipe with a napkin before reapplying will take care of the problem.

Rating: 5/5. I love this lip balm. It’s what I wear every day to the gym  and on days when I don’t want to wear lipstick or gloss but still want a hint of color. It’s amazing. Right now, ARROW only has three products in the line, but since the launch went well I see they’re adding more! So excited to try!

If you’d like to subscribe to Birchbox, follow the link!

9 thoughts on “February 2016 Birchbox Review #5: ARROW Boost Color Enhancing Lip Balm

  1. I also received the Lip balm, but I didn’t like my unique color. It was a punchy-pink, brighter than expected. I like how it looks on you. I guess it’s fun to have that mystery of how it’s going to look on each person. I do like the feel of it and have been wearing it around the house. Great review.

    Like

    1. It’s too bad the color didn’t work for you! I know those “color changing” products can definitely be hit or miss, but I’m glad you can at least use it to moisturize. Thanks for the kind words!

      Like

      1. Same! I only get a little miffed when it’s a whole box of duds. One or two each month definitely isn’t a bad thing and it’s a great way to figure out what full size products are worth your money.

        Like

      1. To be honest it’s never something I’d have bought, because I just thought it was a gimmick to raise buzz on what is otherwise a really expensive balm!

        Like

Leave a Reply

