February 2016 Ipsy Review #4: tre’Stique Baby Blush Stick

image
Stick blush: we meet again.

Cream blushes have always been intriguing to me as an idea. I think it’s a great concept for people that have dry skin and need a product with a bit of moisture so that their makeup and skin doesn’t look cakey. When I was a teenager, cream blushes burst on to the scene. They were everywhere. Actually, cream makeup was EVERYWHERE. I wanted to follow the trends, but my poor oily skin just wasn’t made for cream makeup. It would fade and leave me with greasy patches. Ever since, I’ve had an aversion to cream makeup.

Since my teen years, the hormones have calmed down and my skin is nowhere near as oily. I’m still resistant to creamy foundations because my t-zone is still slightly oil, but the skin on my cheeks has taken on a more normal skin texture, so I feel safe using cream blushes. They’re still not my absolute favorite, as they can be a little harder to blend out than powder, depending on the formula. I don’t seek them out on my own, but I do enjoy getting them in my box subscriptions so I can see what’s new in the world of cream makeup.

Ipsy included this mini version of tre’Stique’s Color & Contour Blush Stick in Bora Bora Coral (USD $34, full size). Now, $34 for a blush is pricey. We’re running in the same circles as NARS blushes, so I expect performance like a NARS blush. If you take a look at the full size, though, you do get a heck of a lot of product and a buffing brush that’s attached to the other end of the blush stick. That’s not a bad deal for the price.

tre’Stique is an interesting brand in that all of their makeup is in stick form (foundation, eyeshadow, you name it). I’ve tried their lipstick in the past and enjoyed it (though I passed it on to my mom since she really liked the color). I figured I’d like what they had to offer.

image
Swatches beautifully. So far, so good.

I gave the blush a swatch on my arm to get a feel for the formula. This blush is definitely more on the gel side. It’s a cream that doesn’t feel too heavy, which is great because there’s nothing worse than heavy makeup sitting on the skin. The color payoff appeared to be fantastic. This shade was a really pretty coral that I could see working for loads of skin tones. I even think some deeper skin tones could pull this off. The swatch blended out quite well and the finish was very satin and silky. I was ready to put this on my face.

image
Why, hello there.

Application, I’m happy to say, was just as beautiful on the face. Here, I’m wearing the L’Oreal Lumi Cushion Foundation and Neutrogena’s Healthy Skin Primer. tre’Stique seemed to do well with both of these as its surface. What I did was apply some directly onto the cheeks and then took my e.l.f. Small Stipple Brush to blend it out. Boom, great cream to powder formula with decent color payoff. The finish is definitely satin, not matte or sparkly, so keep that in mind. I know we all have our own preferences when it comes to blush texture.

Wear time was good. With primer and setting spray, I got this blush to last a good 6 hours before I started to see some breakdown. Luckily, I wasn’t stuck with random coral patches. I think the powder finish helps this to fade gradually like any other blush. I think this would break down faster if you have oily skin, but it will definitely work on people with normal or dry skin.

I was incredibly impressed with the performance, but if I’m being completely honest I already own two coral blushes that I love. I didn’t want to have another coral blush lying around in my collection, so I passed this on to a friend of my sister’s who loves it. This little blush stick does deserve some love.

Rating: 5/5. No complaints from me about this cream stick blush from tre’Stique! The cream to powder, satin finish blush has a great formula that makes for easy application and sits beautifully on the skin. The color payoff was also really great. I still feel that the price is a little more expensive than it should be, but at least with the full size you get a good amount of product and a buffing brush. If you love cream makeup, then this may certainly be up your alley.

If you’d like to try Ipsy, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

