February 2016 Ipsy Review #5: Luxie Beauty Small Taper Blending Eye Brush 231

image
Luxie, you have stolen my heart.

Like I’ve mentioned before, makeup brushes are my favorite items to get in beauty subscriptions because to me they’re the least sexy makeup item. And my subscriptions have delivered some truly wonderful brushes in the past. Luxie Beauty is one of them.

I was introduced to this brand when Boxycharm sent me their concealer brush. It was love at first application. That little brush has given me amazing precision when using concealer to clean up my eyebrows. Plus, the quality is so good. Every month, I secretly hope another Luxie brush will make its way into my collection.

February’s Ipsy bag, to my delight, contained another one of these brushes! This time, it was the Small Tapered Blending Brush from their Rose Gold Collection (USD $12.00). I only had one blending brush in my eye brush collection (really, I’m that resistant to buying brushes), so another one was a welcomed addition. My e.l.f. blending brush definitely needed a break.

These brushes from the Rose Gold collection are vegan, cruelty free, and paraben free. Just like its concealer sister, this brush is very well constructed. The handle and metal plate don’t feel cheap (though they’re not quite as luxurious as higher end brushes). The bristles are amazingly soft, and the tapered finish is well done. I haven’t gotten any shedding what so ever after using or cleaning this brush. It’s well worth its $12 price point.

This brush does a phenomenal job of applying and blending eyeshadow. The small size and tapered bristles make it ideal for crease shades. Whenever I use this brush, even with my most difficult shadows, I can always get precisely the color intensity that I want. You’re not left with muddy and patchy looking shadows in the crease. If I apply too much color, I find that this brush will correct that with some additional blending.

Rating: 5/5. Luxie does it again. Man, are these brushes amazing! This tapered blending brush hits all the marks: well constructed, quality materials, and phenomenal shadow application and precision. Luxie Beauty is quickly becoming one of my favorite brush brands.

If you’d like to subscribe to Ipsy, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

