February 2016 Boxycharm Review #2: Real Tree for Her Travel Sprayer

image
Oh, Boxycharm. Your fragrance choices are…interesting.

Whenever Boxycharm or any other subscription sends me a fragrance I get suspicious. Out of all of the fragrance samples I’ve received over the past three years, only one has been a good fit for me.

That’s a lot of fragrance rejects. I think what happens is that these beauty subscription services don’t do a fragrance profile. If they did, like they do with their beauty profiles, I bet there would be more hits than misses.

Boxycharm doesn’t do a beauty or fragrance profile. Everyone gets the same thing (with few variances). So on the plus, you do get full sized items, but there can be some major misses. This, like all the fragrances I’ve gotten from them, was a definite miss.

I want to take a little time to talk about this brand. When I went to the “About Us” section, I was surprised to find that Realtree is not your typical indie beauty company. It’s “the world’s leading camouflage designer, marketer, and licensor. Yes, you read correctly: this is a camouflage brand–we’re talking what you wear when you go hunting. Huh. Apparently, now they’ve expanded into fragrances for him and her. This is definitely an interesting way for a camo company to branch out.

Knowing this perfume is coming from a camouflage producer, I’m somewhat impressed with what they delivered. (However, it still wasn’t a good fit for me.)

Realtree For Her (USD $24.00, full size) was not the worst perfume I’ve gotten in a box. It’s described on the website as opening up with “the sweet taste of pomegranate, a hint of persimmon and an exotic scent of orchids. It blends with lotus blossom and champaca flower and it’s followed by the rich scent of amber, the transient scent of violets and the depth of mahogany.”

I do love warmer fragrances and did enjoy the notes of amber and mahogany. However, this fragrance was far too sweet for me. I don’t mind a hint of sweet. I think this perfume is the perfect antithesis to what I like. While this is predominantly sweet with warmer background notes, I prefer fragrances that are mostly warm with hints of sweet in the background.

Now knowing that this perfume is from a brand that makes hunting gear, I’m surprised they went with such a “girly” sweet scent. I would expect them to make a woman’s perfume with some more masculine notes. Fragrances that get this balance right are some of my favorites. Just something interesting to note.

Again, it wasn’t unpleasant, but sweeter fragrances don’t mix very well with my body chemistry. Luckily, the perfume wasn’t a total waste. My mom ended up loving the fragrance, so I passed it along to her.

Rating: 2/5. Take my rating with a grain of salt. Fragrances are so unique to each person, and what works for someone may not work for another. Again, this isn’t an unpleasant scent. On the right person it does smell quite nice. But my skin takes better to warmer scents that aren’t too sweet. This just wasn’t a good match.

If you’d like to subscribe to Boxycharm, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

