February 2016 Boxycharm Review #3: Shray Ms. Amazing Facial Mask

image
Bonus points for adorable packaging.

Sheet masks in box subscriptions are always a nice treat! I love them, because they can be a nice pick-me-up in the middle of a busy week without being as time consuming as a traditional mask. My favorite ones tend are the hydrating formulas. I haven’t come across a pore cleansing/oil control sheet mask that I like as much as my charcoal/mud masks. But there are definitely some great hydrating/skin plumping ones out there.

Boxycharm included the Ms. Amazing Mask from SHRAY (USD $30.00, for a set of 5 masks). The Ms. Amazing Mask is specifically made for sensitive skin and is suppose to address the effects of excess dry skin and dullness. This came at just the right time. For the past few months, I’ve been traveling across borders and a time zone to get a professional certification. It’s absolutely been worth it, but man does constant travel have a way of drying and dulling my skin. Not cute and totally unhealthy.

Right off the bat, the packaging is adorable. I mean, just look at it! The cute factor doesn’t contribute to protecting the product (the actual sheet mask is in the standard packet), but points for being precious.

Let’s move on from aesthetics and get down to the important stuff: ingredients.

Y’all know just how picky I am when it comes to skincare ingredients. I want the most effective with none of the irritants. It’s a high bar over on this blog. This mask is actually one of the better ones when it comes to quality ingredients, but does have one huge flaw.

Let’s start with the positives. On the plus, there are some essential ingredients from which everyone can benefit. I love that there’s no alcohol in this mask. It’s a water based mask, which is good news for truly sensitive skin. If you’re using something claiming to be for sensitive skin, but still find your skin getting irritated, check the ingredients. There might be too much alcohol in it.

Star ingredients in this mask are Hyaluronate (aka, hyaluronic acid), which is an essential skin communicator and in more concentrated amounts (like in a mask) can help give back some plumpness to sallow skin. But really, everyone should be using skincare products with hyaluronic acid in their daily routine. There are two other great ingredients that help out with moisture, Piper Methysticum Extract and Hydroxyethyl Urea. On top of this, they include Rice Extract, which is really great for controlling oil production by tightening pores. This is great for those of us with skin that overproduces oil when skin gets dry.

This mask would be perfect if it weren’t for the big pink elephant in the room: fragrance (here, labeled as perfume). I have talked time and again about how fragrance should be a big no-no when it comes to skincare, especially for facial skincare and for people with truly sensitive skin. I’m a little more lenient when it comes to body skincare, but I still avoid it when I can. Fragrance is an irritant and can affect cell communication, which is essential to skin repair. I know it makes products seem more “fancy” and “spa like”, but constantly exposing your skin to fragrance does more damage and can even cancel out the benefits of other great ingredients.

Sometimes, some products will have it in such small amounts that it really won’t make a difference, but if you have true sensitive skin you really need to watch out. It could be very irritating, even though it doesn’t affect the majority of people.

This is too bad, because this mask had such promise.

I did use it and did see some plumping and brightening in my skin. I was super impressed, but I also don’t want to expose my skin too much to fragrance. I just wish this were truly a sensitive skin-friendly mask.

Rating: 3/5. This mask has some potentially amazing ingredients to revive tired and dry skin. I did see an immediate effect and it was a nice little treat for my face. But if you have really sensitive skin, be careful because of the fragrance in the ingredients. Had this mask been fragrance free, it would have gotten my full 100% recommendation. Maybe they’ll adjust the formula and get rid of the fragrance.

If you’d like to subscribe to Boxycharm, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

