March 2016 Birchbox Review #1: Smashbox Photo Op Eyeshadow Trio

IMG_3411
All the Smashbox eyeshadow, plz.

This is what sold me on the Editor’s Box for March’s Birchbox. I’m so happy to see that Birchbox is expanding to include more of the mainstream brands you find at Sephora. It’s making them a great competitor in the beauty retail community. Recently, they added brands from the Estee Lauder Company (Clinique, Smashbox, Origins, and, of course Estee Lauder) to their stock. This is a huge move for Birchbox and I can’t wait to see what else they’ll add.

When Birchbox revealed that this mini Photo Op Eyeshadow Trio in Filter (USD $28.00, full size), I was so excited. In my teenage years, Smashbox was one of the first brands of makeup that I bought. I was a huge fan of their berry colored lip glosses and their eyeshadow palettes. It’s been a while since I’ve revisited Smashbox shadows, so this was a very welcomed sample.

IMG_3438
When matte shadows swatch beautifully. I die.

There are 4 different shade palettes of Photo Op trios: Vignette (plum nude), Focal Point (peachy nude), Multi Flash (pinky nude), and Filter (brown nude). We all received filter, which is all matte. All of these trios are great, because they offer a slow maintenance palette for every day looks.

I know a lot of people want eyeshadows that are simple, no fuss, and can be used for multiple every day looks. I think Smashbox nailed this concept with all of their trios. Each one offers you great shadow combinations that are tailored for daily use and allow customers to choose which colors they use the most.

The Filter trio, for me, has my perfect go-to colors for a daily matte look. The deepness of the brown shades allows me to create a natural eye look that suits my skin tone. Depending on how I use the shadows, I could also get this to give me a deeper smokey eye for evening looks. I think these colors could also work for lighter skinned folk, as long as they used a light hand, and deeper skin tones, because the colors can be built up pretty well.

IMG_3439
The actual perfect natural eye makeup.

The versatility of what appear to be “basic” colors is what makes these trios perfect for traveling, especially for business trips. You can throw one of these in your bag and know it will work for business meetings and events and allow you to play up the look for after hours fun. I love makeup items that help me minimize what I take when traveling. I could easily toss this in my travel bag along with a mascara, liner pen, and a single pot shimmer (just in case) and be set.

Looking at the quality of the shades, these are some of the best matte eyeshadows I’ve seen in a long time. The pigmentation is phenomenal. The swatches seen above are from one swipe. A little goes a long way with these shadows, which is great for the price point.

They blend like a freaking dream, even without primer. The shadows are soft without going all over the place. Also, despite being matte these don’t have a lot of fall out. I’m not sure what Smashbox is doing with their formula, but whatever it is they’re definitely getting it right.

IMG_3454
I love how the neutral look of the shades pairs well with bolder lip colors.

Now, can you find these colors at the drug store? Absolutely. They’re not unique by any means. What is unique, I think, is that Smashbox did such a wonderful job of pairing the ideal colors to give users a goof-proof color palette. It’s going to work with absolutely everything, no matter what palette you choose.

In this case, as long as you have the money, I really do think this trio is worth the $28.00 price point. You’re definitely going to get your money’s worth.

Rating: 5/5. Honestly, I didn’t think I would be so blown by such a simple looking trio. But this hits the marks on all fronts: a superior quality basic matte palette that gives versatile looks for daily looks. If you’re someone who is just getting into makeup and wants an error-proof color palette, someone who travels a lot and needs to simplify their travel bag, or if you don’t want a huge palette then this bad boy is for you. I can already tell I’m going to go through this little sample quickly, and when I do, you can bet I’ll be repurchasing this.

If you’d like to subscribe to Birchbox, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

