March 2016 Birchbox Review #5: Milk Makeup Lip Color

IMG_3415
Actually not the worst lipstick sample I’ve seen.

Everyone has been talking about the latest makeup brand to launch: Milk Makeup. I took a look at their website and it’s the epitome of hipster makeup. I could see Portlandia doing a spoof on something similar. Check it out for your self.

Regardless of how much Milk’s website made me chuckle, I was curious to sample what they had to offer. Birchbox announced that they’d be including a sample of their Lip Color in the shade C.R.E.A.M. (USD $22.00, full size) in the Ready For Anything box. Excellent. I love trying before investing in a new brand.

The price point puts these lipsticks in the range of Urban Decay lipsticks (moment of silence for the recently discontinued Revolution Lipsticks). These had better perform like Urban Decay.

Milk describes these lip colors as having a 30% increase in pigmentation over other lipsticks, giving you fully opaque color in one swipe. The finish is a demi-matte and has some natural oils for added hydration. I love super matte finishes, but those can beat up my lips so I appreciate a good demi matte formula. Initially the boosted pigmentation claim seemed a little gimmicky, but there are high end lipsticks that have boosted color payoff so I kept an open mind.

IMG_3431
This swatch came off a little more pink than the actual color.

C.R.E.A.M. is a described as a true nude color. I’d say this is accurate, though it has just enough pink in there so the color isn’t completely flat. I had to be really careful swatching this because the sample packaging is, quite frankly, awful. Not only do you get a dinky amount of lipstick, but this is one of those cheaply packaged plastic cases where they just plop a mini lipstick bullet on top. It doesn’t make for the most stable packaging. My sister also got this and the lipstick fell out of the packaging almost immediately. Come on, Milk. You’re not making a very good first impression.

Bad packaging aside, the initial swatch was very promising. I did see a good amount of color payoff, though not quite as color boosted as more expensive lipsticks, like the NARS Audacious or Bite Beauty’s Amuse Bouche. Still, it was about the same as Urban Decay’s Revolution line, which is what I’m looking for at this price.

IMG_3430
Really, this is a great nude.

The nude shade itself is incredibly pretty. On my tan skin tone, it looked like a “your lips but better”. It wasn’t so brown that it made me look dead and didn’t have so much white that it was too light. I think I could get away using this color during the summer when I’m darker.

On the lips, this did apply well. With one coat I did get opacity, but I still felt the need to go back and add a second coat to get a more polished look. The finish is gorgeous. It gives you the matte trend you want without being so over drying. I think this is a great option for folks who want to rock a matte lip but need the hydration of a cream lipsticks. It’s a good compromise.

Rating: 4/5. I would give this a perfect score if it weren’t for the horrible sample packaging. This is just one step above those annoying foil package lip samples. Bad packaging aside, the lipstick itself is beautifully formulated and pigmented. You’re getting your money’s worth when you purchase this, though I’d have to see the packaging in person to make sure it will protect the product. All in all, not a bad launch for Milk! I’d love to see what else they offer.

If you’d like to subscribe to Birchbox, follow the link!

2 thoughts on “March 2016 Birchbox Review #5: Milk Makeup Lip Color

Leave a Reply

