March 2016 Ipsy Review #1: Me me me Loose Powder Brush

IMG_3424
Getting brushes in subscriptions is my favorite!

I love getting a good brush in a box subscription. We all know just how lazy I am about purchasing my own brushes. While the difference between a good and bad tool can make or break your look, I’m still meh about purchasing my own brushes. Plus, there are so many on the market that it’s pretty overwhelming to pick the right one.

Ipsy started off March right by including this Loose Powder Brush from MeMeMe Cosmetics (GBP £14, full size). This company is from the UK and I could only get the pricing in British Pounds, but it’s the equivalent to USD $20. On their website, MeMeMe claims to deliver quality brushes at an affordable price. I’m not sure if the concept of “affordable” is a bit different in the UK, but in my mind a $20 brush is not affordable. It’s definitely mid range. Affordable to me is e.l.f. prices, from $1 to $15. Anything more expensive, and we’ve hit midrange. At $20, I expect the construction and quality I would find in Real Techniques (on the more affordable side of midrange) or Sephora brushes.

The brush itself is nicely made. The bristles are quite even and well packed in a dome shape. I couldn’t find any information on the materials used, but they appear to be synthetic. I prefer synthetic brushes, so this is a plus. This can definitely be used for loose powder, but it’s a little smaller than the brush size I prefer for applying full face powder. However, it is the perfect size for applying powder in the under eye area — super ideal for setting concealer.

The handle is a thick plastic. If I’m being candid, I expected nicer materials for the price point. The construction of the brush is wonderful, but the materials remind me very much of e.l.f.’s brushes. This isn’t a bad thing, but it makes me think that this brush definitely isn’t worth $20. To compare, over at e.l.f.’s website you can buy an 11 piece brush set, with a case, that includes a similar looking powder brush for just $10 more.

It does perform really well at applying powder, so it definitely gets the job done and done right. The synthetic bristles are easy to clean and don’t shed. But then again, neither do e.l.f.’s. I’m just having such a hard time justifying the price point. If they come over to the US, I think they’ll have to lower them to be more competitive.

Rating: 3/5. This is a good loose powder brush that everyone should have in their collection. It applies product evenly and is well constructed. However, I’m perplexed by the price. You are getting a nice brush, but definitely not one worth $20. I’d love to try more, but why would I when I get the same thing from other brands at a truly affordable price?

If you’d like to subscribe to Ipsy, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

