March 2016 Ipsy Review #2: TEMPTU Warm Glow Bronzer

IMG_3425
A lot bronzer, not ideal packaging.

Liquid bronzer has made its comeback this summer. Almost every brand is coming out with a liquid version for all of us to enjoy. I love powder bronzer, but I’m always down to try a different form of makeup favorites.

Ipsy has sort of given us a taste of this trend by including a sample of the TEMPTU Warm Glow Bronzer(USD $35, full size + spray gun). Now, this is not a regular liquid bronzer. This is meant to be spray on makeup. I understand that Ipsy can’t include a “sample” airbrush machine along with the sample, but honestly, I think they should have put the sample in an aerosol can so we can truly get the “airbrush makeup” effect. Still, onward and upward.

IMG_3447
Liquidy goodness.

This spray bronzer is suppose to give you a very natural look. No faked bake look here. I have to say that the swatch was really promising. Sheered out, the bronzer gave a nice tan effect and had just enough iridescence to give a glow without making you look like you’d been glitter bombed.

IMG_3448
That glow tho.

It was time to put the formula to the test. Again, it would have been much better to get this sample in a spray can so I could test just how well the particles landed on the skin and how much control I had over application versus with a powder.

I treated this like a liquid bronzer and used my various contour brushes to apply. To give some dimension and warmth to the face I applied it around the perimeters with a big angled kabuki brush. Then, I took a small contour brush to apply some under my cheekbones, and a compact contour brush down the sides of my nose.

IMG_3449
Natural glow, indeed!

On initial application, I was super pleased with how well this formula blended out and sat on the skin. It melted in and made it look as if I had a little color boost without looking too orangey. This was actually a good color for my skin tone to do very mild, natural looking contour.

I was ready to be sold on this when at the end of the day I noticed that the formula was breaking down in patches. By the time I was removing my makeup the patches were incredibly noticeable. I was really bummed by this! I have a feeling this is because the sample wasn’t applied the way it’s suppose to: as a spray.

I was just about to toss the rest of the sample when I decided to try it out as a foundation color corrector. I had my Jouer Matte Moisture Tint sitting around, because it was two shades too light for my complexion. I mixed in the TEMPTU and BOOM. The foundation was darkened to just my shade and I had an added color boost. The formula of the Jouer tint also wasn’t altered. It still had the same wear time and did not, I was happy to see, break down into patches.

I’m really happy I found a way to use this sample.

Rating: Undecided. I don’t think it’s fair for me to give a final rating, because I didn’t get to really see this product perform the way it was suppose to. I did see a lot of promise. The shade was great and didn’t leave the skin with an orange tinge. It also wasn’t overly glittery, instead giving a soft glow. I would have loved to see this perform as airbrush makeup, but sadly the sample packaging prevents this.

If you’d like to subscribe to Ipsy, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

