March 2016 Boxycharm Review #1: Chella Tantalizing Taupe Eyebrow Pencil

IMG_3443
Brow products, FTW.

I was a teenager in the early 2000s, when dinky thin brows were all the rage. I definitely felt out of place with my full, bushy brows and even tried to over pluck my brows to get the look. (Yet another reason I keep middle and high school photos well out of sight.)

Thank god those days are over. I’m so glad fuller brows are back. Let’s be real for a minute: no one looked good in pencil thin brows. I hope those never come back from the grave. Even if they did, like other things trying to make a comeback (I see you, wide legged pants) I won’t be partaking.

While I was able to restore my brows back to their fuller state, that over tweezing in my teens has left a few areas sparse. This is why I love brow products. I can use them strategically to just fill in those areas and make my brows look more polished. I have my favorites (hello, ABH brow powder and Benefit Gimme Brow), but if I can try more I will.

Boxycharm included the Chella Tantalizing Taupe Eyebrow Color Pencil (USD $18.00, full size) in the March box. Taupe is suppose to be the “universal brow color” for most brow shades. (I think some redheads have a harder time getting taupe to work.) I’d been wanting to try the “universal shade”, but I was a little scared that taupe would make my brows look a little ashy. My brows are also several shades darker than my natural hair color, so I tend to stay in the soft brown to dark brown family. These shades make my brows look polished without looking over filled or drawn on. Still, I’m down to try lighter shades for days when I don’t want my brows to be so defined.

Boxycharm had included a brow gel from Chella in a past box that I really enjoyed. It wasn’t quite the powerhouse gel like ABH’s but it got the job done and I went through the whole tube we were sent. I had good feelings about trying a pencil from this brand.

IMG_3444
Brands, please note that mechanical pencils are the best.

Chella’s eyebrow pencil comes in a twist up, mechanical form. This is amazing, because I hate sharpening wooden pencil products. The only wooden pencils I willing buy are some of NYX’s lip liners because the formula is amazing enough for me to deal with sharpening. It’s a very fine tipped pencil, reminiscent of the ABH Brow Wiz, which allows for more precision . As a fuller brow girl, I also prefer a fine tipped product because I’m only looking to fill in some sparse areas. Ladies with thinner brows might enjoy the newer style brow pencils with thicker applicators. I find I don’t really need that much product.

The formula of the product is very soft and creamy, but not so much that you’ll end up with brow color everywhere. I was able to get very precise strokes into my brows without losing control of the pencil.

IMG_3446
Hey there, brows.

The color is something I’m really falling in love with. This taupe shade actually works with my darker colored brows without making them appear gray! While I still like my darker brow products, I do like that this gives me a softer, more natural look. It’s one step above the Gimme Brow, but not quite as intense as my L’Oreal Brow Stylist Definer in Dark Brunette.

Wear time is pretty great. I can make my brows last all day and the color isn’t moving around everywhere. It set well using a spool brush to diffuse the product and locked in with some brow gel.

I’m incredibly impressed.

Now, price wise this is a little cheaper than the ABH Brow Wiz ($21 versus $18) and, in my opinion, you’re getting a product that’s just as good. The difference being that Chella is only available on their online store, so if you factor in shipping it’ll probably cost about the same.

That being said, will I be repurchasing this?

I would, but I discovered the L’Oreal Brow Stylist Definer, which performs just as well as the higher end brow pencils I’ve used. And at $8, you really can’t beat the price. You know me. If I find a drugstore product that performs as well as high end, I’m going to save my money. Still, I think this is a phenomenal taupe color and wouldn’t dissuade anyone from buying it.

Rating: 5/5. For a brow product that’s in the same price range as ABH and Benefit, Chella’s Eyebrow Color Pencil performs beautifully. It’s packaged well in a mechanical pencil that gives your precision and a formula that blends beautifully into the brows and is long lasting. If you’re looking to invest in brow products in this price range, this is absolutely a great option.

If you’d like to subscribe to Boxycharm, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

