April 2016 Birchbox Review #2: Laura Geller Baked Blush-n-Brighten

image
Hey there, Laura Geller. Your blushes give me life!

First off, apologies for not posting on my regular schedule. I’ve had a family emergency that has thrown off everything else in my life. (Don’t worry! Everything is fine now). Now, onto some blush talk.

Baked makeup products can be tricky to work with. Since the formula is a little drier than traditional powders because of the method use to make them, application can be tough if they’re not made juuuuuuuust right. For these reasons, a lot of people don’t like dealing with baked makeup.

I was introduced to it through Laura Geller’s blushes last summer when I received Baked Blush-N-Brighten (USD $28.00, full size) in Pink Grapefruit. In all honesty, I have fallen completely in love with Laura Geller’s baked makeup formula. I was rocking Pink Grapefruit on the cheeks all last summer. Her Baked Bronze-N-Brighten in Medium is my go-to bronzer in winter and spring when my skin ton is lighter. Recently, I purchased the Tahitian Glow Kit from ULTA and am LOVING the face and body baked bronzer in that kit. Definitely get your hands on it if you can.

They’re gorgeous formulas for a reason. Despite being “dry”, these powders are still quite soft and apply and wear evenly. Now, here’s where some people may not like these. Because they’re baked they tend to not be as strongly pigmented as traditional powder blushes. You’re not going to get intense color in one swipe. However, the color is completely buildable. You are using a little more product, but you do have more control over the amount of pigmentation that ends up on your face. Everyone can wear these formulas, but people on the lighter skin end of the spectrum will really appreciate that.

My only beef with Laura Geller is that their makeup range isn’t deep skin friendly a lot of the time. But on my skin tone, and even a few shades deeper, these blushes and bronzers can definitely work.

Birchbox let us know that a blush sample would be in April’s Box and I was sold. 1) I already love the formula in this blush and would love another in my collection. 2) I already knew Laura Geller does samples right. The packaging is the exact same quality as the full size, has a ton of product, and even a teeny little mirror. Yes and yes.

image
Golden goodness.

I received the color Tropic Hues. I’d describe this color as light golden peach. It is stunning, but it is a light colored blush. Even on my skin, which is more on the medium-light tan side right now, it wore as a “barely there, but still noticeable” golden flush. This is absolutely not going to work on anyone with deeper skin tone (there’s my beef with Laura Geller…). However, if you are on the fair end of the spectrum and have been wanting to work with more golden blush shades, this is perfect. It’s not the darker golds that work better on medium to deep skin, but are too dark on fair and porcelain skinned girls.

image
Perfect for when you need the barest of blushes.

Despite being a little light, I was able to build up enough color for days when I still want blush, but I need it to be very soft. The Blush-N-Brighten line is, true to its name, filled with shimmery blushes. The shimmer is beautiful. It isn’t overpowering or glittery. It’s just enough to catch the light and have a soft glow. Actually, I think this could be used as a peachy gold subtle highlight on fair skin as well.

If you’re looking for matte options from Laura Geller, try the Baked Impressions line, and for satin finishes go for the Color True. For ladies with deeper skin tone or for those who like more pigmentation, you’ll want to look at the Gelato Swirl line. The colors there are definitely more deep skin friendly.

image
I liked my makeup so much this day, that this selfie is just me being extra.

Wear time is pretty great. If I’m sweating heavily outside, of course it’s going to wear away. But in normal conditions, I can get to last a full work day with little fading. If it sweats off or fades, it does so nicely with no patches of color. Patchiness is the worst in blushes. No one wants that.

For the price point, you are getting a decent amount of product. Honestly, I used my pink grapefruit sample all last summer and on and off since and I still haven’t hit pan. And that’s the sample size. However, I understand that $28 is a lot of money. So if you’re on a budget, a great drugstore alternative is the Milani Baked Blushes. They have the exact same shimmery finish as Laura Geller and are slightly more pigmented (and friendly for deeper skin tones).

Rating: 5/5. I was already a huge fan of the Baked Blush-N-Brighten line. It’s softer pigmentation does give you control over how much color ends up on your cheeks. Packaging is great quality and you get plenty of blush to last you a while. The only downside is that the color selection in this particular line isn’t best for people with deeper skin tones. Gelato Swirl will be more up your alley.

If you’d like to subscribe to Birchbox, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

