April 2016 Ipsy Review #2: LAB2 Just Blending In Brush

image
Sometimes, brushes don’t work out.

Brushes in beauty subscriptions are my fave. I’m lazy about investing in brushes, so when they come directly to my mailbox I get excited. I’ve had good luck getting great quality brushes from my subscriptions in the past. In fact, I discovered my current favorite brush brand through Ipsy and Boxycharm. But, of course, they all can’t be winners.

This is one of those brushes that just didn’t work for me. I clean my brushes once a week, so I always welcome more eye brushes, especially those for the crease as I change up my crease color with the type of looks I do. Sometimes I need something cool toned, most of the time warm toned, and then I’ll go kooky with colorful looks. All that to say, I really need more crease brushes so my color changer doesn’t take too much of a beating.

Ipsy included the LAB2 Just Blending In Brush (USD $6.99, full size), a synthetic crease or shader brush. I prefer my eye brushes to be synthetic, so I was down with the bristle material. For a $7 brush, it’s well constructed and the handle actually has that velvety soft rubber that you find on pricier brands. To give you an idea as to why this brush isn’t my favorite, here’s what I look for in a good crease brush:

  1. Small enough that I can get precision, but big enough to cover my eye area. The LAB2 brush misses the mark here. It’s just too big, with bristles about twice the length of my Luxie 231 Small Tapered Blending Brush and my e.l.f. Crease Brush. The added length, I find, muddies out my shadows. When comparing it to my Real Techniques Deluxe Crease Brush, which is larger and I like to use when I need to diffuse color, the RT brush wins because it’s bristles are wider, not longer.
  2. Bristles need to be soft enough not to pull, but stiff enough that product doesn’t get everywhere. Again, LAB2 didn’t meet my needs. The bristles are soft, but they’re way too soft. So soft, in fact, that the bristles go everywhere. The brush is too soft to retain its shape when I’m using it in blending motions. Crease shadow gets everywhere and the look is ruined.

Now, the website states that you can also use this as a shader brush. It performed just slightly better when applying color all over the lid. However, when I’m applying a lid color, I typically want that color to be more intense than my transition or crease. The softness of the bristles, again, gets in the way. It does diffuse the color on the lid, but too much for my taste. I have other brushes in my collection that perform better.

I’m so sad to give such a negative review, but e.l.f. makes a better brush at half the price. I do like the materials and construction, so if they can get the bristles to retain their shape better in use, I’d be willing to try another brush from their line.

Bottom line: The bristles on this brush are too long and too soft to get precision when blending out eyeshadow. You’re better off investing in another option from Luxie (if you want an indie brand), e.l.f., or Real Techniques.

If you’d like to try out Ipsy, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

