April 2016 Ipsy Review #4: OFRA Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Bohemian

image
Eyeshadow singles are pretty great.

OFRA is well known here on the internet for their liquid lipsticks. I’m a fan of them for their comfort and wide color range. For Christmas, I also got two of their powder highlighters, which I really love. You Dew You is one of my favorite golden peach highlights. Having such good prior experience with OFRA, I was excited to try an eyeshadow from them.

Now, I have to let you know that I have tried eyeshadows from them in the past. As an Ipsy offer, there was a twenty shade eyeshadow palette that is regularly sold on OFRA’s website for $79.00. I picked it up, as it seemed like a good deal with the price being slashed to $20.00. That palette is a mix of mattes and shimmers and was my first exposure to OFRA eyeshadows.

The results were mixed. The shimmer shadows actually applied very well. They looked just as beautiful on the eye as they did in the swatch. The mattes, however, were a disaster. They were pretty dry and hard to blend. To OFRA’s credit, each shadow was highly pigmented, but this wasn’t enough to save the formula. All I can say is that I’m glad I got the Ipsy price reduction. Had I paid $79 for it, I would have been pissed. Honestly, the way the formulation of the mattes is, it’s barely worth the $20.

Ipsy included the shade Bohemian (USD $12 for a 4 oz pan, $10 for a 2 oz pan), a light bronzy metallic. It’s a good universal color that will work for practically anyone. I do wish Ipsy would get a little bolder in their sample color selections, but I understand that you have to please the masses.

image
Good packaging for an eyeshadow single.

OFRA’s packaging is similar to Makeup Geek’s for single pans. It comes in a cardboard envelope and is cushioned with foam to prevent it from breaking. I’ve never had a problem when ordering shadows in this packaging, so it seems to be the best way to transport it.

One thing I do wish OFRA would do is include a sticker on the back of the shadow with the shade information. This will make it much easier to organize product and have the info ready if you need to repurchase. Most other brands do this, so it would be great if they started doing this, too.

image
Enter a caption

Bohemian is actually a part of the 20 shadow palette and I’m happy to report that the single pan is the exact same formulation as the palette. Like the other shimmer shades, they’re smooth, highly pigmented, and apply well.

This eyeshadow formula does have quite a bit of fallout, which isn’t surprising considering the formulation. However, that isn’t a deal breaker for me, as I have plenty of shadows with fallout that perform well. I just make sure to do my eye makeup before applying the rest of my face makeup.

image
Bohemian all over the lid.

These shimmers are best used all over the lid. The best application I got was using a flat shader brush. You definitely want to use an eyeshadow primer or else you’ll get some creasing. This isn’t a point against OFRA, as basically all powder shadows do that. This isn’t like a L’Oreal Infallible or Maybelline Color Tattoo.

image

All in all, it did wear well with a primer. I was able to get some great looks, but I definitely couldn’t pull OFRA’s matte shades to do this.

I say all this because in an upcoming subscription, we’re being sent some shadows from OFRA again. I’m praying for an updated formula on those.

Bottom line: For the price point, these shadows, including the shimmers are ok. It’s not that the shimmers don’t work well. They do! There’s just something lacking in the formula. Looking at a similarly priced brand, Makeup Geek, I’m much more satisfied with their eyeshadow pans. Not to mention they blow the OFRA matte formula out of the water. Granted, there are tons of affiliate discount codes, so if you do buy these pick your favorite YouTuber and use their code to save some money. I know OFRA owns their own labs, so I really hope they figure out the formula! I’d rather pay a little more for a better shadow. I know they can do it, as they’ve put out so many other great products.

If you’d like to try Ipsy, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

