April 2016 Boxycharm Review #2: Pur-Lisse Daily Lip Nourishment

image
Oh, expensive lip balms.

Let’s be real. When it comes to lip balms, I do want a good formula that will keep my lips soft and maybe have some SPF for added protection against UV rays. (People, please remember that your lips can, indeed, get sun damage. So remember to protect them!) In all honesty, I can get that just fine at the drugstore. Here’s what I currently use:

Both from the drugstore. Both deliver great results for me.

Which brings us to Pur-Lisse’s Daily Lip Nourishment with Mango & Shea Butter (USD $16.00, full size). $16 may not sound like a lot in terms of luxury products. I’m sure somewhere out there is some $100 lip balm. But it is eight times as much as I spend on lip balm (Nivea’s is $2 a tube), so I’m expecting the moon from this product.

Looking at the ingredients, there are some promising ones that provide a good source of antioxidants, anti-inflammatory properties, and some skin repairing agents. All things I love. The one ingredient towards the end of the list is Orange Peel Extract, which provides some fragrance to the balm. I wish this wasn’t there, as fragrance isn’t the best thing to put on delicate skin, but it’s also not a total deal breaker. Still, look out for it if you’re sensitive to that sort of thing.

The consistency of this product is liquid like a glaze. It comes in a squeeze tube and you just need a small amount to cover the surface of your lips. Even though it’s a glaze, the formula does allow it to sink into the lips in about 10 to 15 minutes, which I really do appreciate.

However, sometimes you can have great ingredients and for some reason the product is just lackluster. That’s what happened here. After the product sunk into the skin, the hydrating effect sort of disappeared. That’s not totally surprising, as you do need to reapply lip balms, but the hydration went away almost immediately after sinking into the skin. It only lasted a few minutes. My lips looked nice, but they felt a little dry and like I had to put something back on.

I just can’t use this as a standalone product. Instead, what I do is put this on, let it sink in, and then apply my lip balm over it. It’s basically become an extra step in my skincare routine until this stuff runs out.

Bottom line: Despite promising, wonderful ingredients, this lip balm from Pur-Lisse just didn’t work for me. I can appreciate the lightweight, liquid texture. I do think that whatever is in the formula that allows it to sink into the skin so quickly cuts down on the hydrating effect. In my opinion, it’s just not worth the $16 price point. Still, if you want to try it out, it’s not so terribly expensive that you’ll regret purchasing it. It’s really up to you.

If you’d like to subscribe to Boxycharm, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

