April 2016 Boxycharm Review #3: OFRA Long Lasting Liquid Lipstick in Manhattan

image
Another hit from OFRA

I’ve already raved about OFRA’s Long Lasting Liquid Lipstick (USD $19.90, full size — but there are a million affiliate discount codes out there. Pick your favorite beauty guru and use their code) before. Boxycharm actually included the shade Americano in an earlier box this year, which was an on trend brown color that I adore. Feel free to check out my previous review that goes more in-depth into the formula and such. This may be a social media brand, but their mousse like, comfortable liquid lipsticks are some of my favorite. The hype is real.

This time around they sent the shade Manhattan from their New York collection. Manhattan is a darker mauve purple that, again, is super on trend with the 90s makeup making a comeback. (TBH: I’m so glad these colors are back, as I love the 90s lip shades. And crop tops. And high waisted pants. Basically everything except the pencil thin eyebrows.)

Like other liquid lipstick brands, the consistency in color and formula is going to vary a little from color to color. With more purple shades, liquid lipsticks tend to go on more patchy and sometimes flake off a bit.

image
Please give me all the purple shades ever.

I love purple lipstick, even the whackier colors, so I’m willing to put up with the issues that come with them.

Upon first application, Manhattan was slightly patchier with one swipe. However, a second coating got me to full opacity without the lipstick feeling bulky on the lip. It’s a formula that builds really well, especially in this color. To compare, Americano, Brooklyn,  and Miami Fever all apply fully opaque in one swipe. Havana Nights, a vampy burgundy, takes two coats. Dubai, a true nude, also takes two coats.

Like the other OFRA liquid lipsticks I tried, the formula dried down completely, though not to a super powdery matte finish that you would get from a Kat Von D or Stila Liquid Lipstick. It’s not 100% transfer proof because it’s the “comfort matte” of liquid lipsticks. Still, I’d say it’s about 98% transfer proof, meaning I do have to reapply after meals and such.

image
Grey muscle tank for more 90s awesomeness.

The shade itself is gorgeous. It’s a mauve purple that works really well on my tan skin tone. This shade doesn’t wash out my skin, though I have a neutral undertone that leans more towards warm. If you’re super cool toned, you may want to make sure this shade doesn’t grey wash your skin.

Bottom line: This is a winner from OFRA’s Long Lasting Liquid Lipstick line. If you want to bring back that early 90s purple, this is a great option. The comfort matte of liquid lipsticks, the comfy yet long wearing formula is consistent with this shade. Just be aware you won’t get the powdery dry finish that you see from other brands.

If you’d like to subscribe to Boxycharm, follow the link!

2 thoughts on “April 2016 Boxycharm Review #3: OFRA Long Lasting Liquid Lipstick in Manhattan

  1. These sound fab! I subscribe to beauty boxes too, I’ve only reviewed once so far but did all the items in one review! I’ll have to start thinking about perhaps doing it this way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

