August 2016 Beauty Subscriptions Are Here!

Yes, it’s been a magical week of packages in the mail, which means beauty subscriptions have arrived! Overall, I’m very pleased with what was sent my way. Let’s dig in:

image
Fantastic Birchbox!

Yes, it’s been a magical week of packages in the mail, which means beauty subscriptions have arrived! Overall, I’m very pleased with what was sent my way. Let’s dig in:

When Birchbox makes a great feature box, the beauty gods sing. This box includes:

  • Two past favorites (Marcelle Golden Glow BB Cream and Beauty Protector Detangler
  • A pack of 12 cleansing wipes from Acure
  • A mini Stila Liquid Lipstick (in a shade that will actually work universally!)
  • Hair oil from Living Proof
  • I also got a bonus packet of a water supplement. Sometimes, Birchbox throws in these random food samples, but I don’t mind them.

Phenomenal box, Birchox.

What isn’t so phenomenal, though, is the changes they made to their reward program. You no longer get 10 reward points for reviewing each product! This is a huge letdown, as they had the best rewards system out there. You can still earn points when you shop in their shop and you’re essentially getting a free dollar for each dollar you spend. You also don’t have to wait to reach the full 100 points to redeem each $10 reward, which is great. But still, I really think they should have kept some points for reviewing the samples. I can understand them possibly losing money for giving 10 points per sample review, but maybe lower it to 5 instead of getting rid of it all together?

image
Gorgeous artwork from Michelle Phan

Ipsy also killed it this month. First, a moment to appreciate the gorgeous bag Michelle Phan designed for August. I’m getting Mermaid Unicorn Princess vibes and loving it. This is definitely a bag I want to keep. The products inside were also really great on first impression:

  • A sheet mask from 111Skin, which is a very pricey brand. I love sheet asks, so please keep them coming!
  • A liquid Illuminator from NYX. Love NYX and always down to try more from them.
  • An eyeshadow trio from Jelly Pong Pong. Beautiful pinky neutral shimmers, though I do wish it included a matte shade.
  • A full size nail polish from Ciaté! I already love this nail polish brand and am so stoked to get a full size!
  • And an organic face scrub. I love me a good scrub, especially one that’s more nourishing for treat yourself bath days.

A+ from Ipsy in August.

image
A solid box from Boxycharm.

Boxycharm’s offering in August was also very good. Of course, it doesn’t live up to the beloved March box, but there are some really interesting items:

  • A serum from Aloette. I’m always down to try a new facial serum.
  • A liquid lipstick from Dirty Little Secret. Never heard of them, but I love discovering and supporting indie companies. Some of my favorite liquid lipsticks come from indie brands. The only complaint I have is that I wish we had received a more on-trend color for the season. The color we do get is an orangey red, which is very pretty, but definitely outside the more muted colors that are in style. This is a problem Boxycharm has had consistently. I know “on trend” colors can cost more, but it’d be nice to see some of them from time to time.
  • Doucce Maxlash Volumizer Mascara. I remember trying their Punk Volumizer Mascara in last year’s October Boxycharm. Great mascara, if a little too much on the clumpy side for my taste. Maybe this one will be more up my alley.
  • Beauty For Real Shadow Stick. I’ve tried and liked some stuff from this brand before. And the color of this shadow stick is very pretty and great for every day wear. Shadow sticks aren’t my preferred type of eyeshadow, but they’re really great for getting ready in a hurry.
  • Coastal Scents Blush and Bronzer Palette. Coastal Scents is super affordable and you can definitely find some gems among their products. The matte bronzer in this palette seems promising, as it looks to be cool enough to also work as a light contouring shade. There’s also a pretty shimmery bronzer for dusting over the face. Again, the issue is the color of the blushes not being super trendy. On the plus, the colors are very pigmented from first swatches. But they’re very bright pinks, which can definitely work but aren’t the most modern blush colors. These seem more comparable to the blushes that were in style about 3 to 5 years ago, when bright pink cheeks were in. But really, I’m so happy we get a mini brush. I’m super stoked about that brush!

Not the best Boxcharm has offered this year, but still good!

 

image
Sephora is focusing on the eyes.

August’s Sephora Play! was a bit of a step down from the great July box. However, this isn’t a bad box at all. Even the duster bag included is so stinking cute.

August’s focus is all about the eyes, from skincare to makeup. Of course, they also included a fragrance sample (they always do). This month’s box has:

  • An Urban Decay Perversion Mascara. I’ve tried this in the past. It’s good, but not quite my fave. I’ll definitely share my pros and cons with this mascara.
  • A Make Up For Ever Artist Shadow in Pink Granite (Iridescent finish). Yes, it is one of those teeny sample pans, though not as tiny as they could go, which was appreciated. I got a soft, pinky taupe color that is very versatile.
  • A Sephora Contour Eye Pencil. Sephora really knows me, because they sent a plum purple shade, which is just what I love. Especially in the fall and winter, deep purple liners are my neutrals.
  • Lancôme Énergie de Vie The Smoothing & Glow Boosting Liquid Moisturizer. I’m happy with the moisturizer I use during the day, but am still on the search for an ideal nighttime moisturizer. This will be a fun one to try.
  • Algenist Complete Renewal Eye Balm. Love seeing how high end eye cream perform in comparison to my drug store beloved, Cerave.
  • Clean Reserve Warm Cotton. Oh, wow. I’ve already opened up the fragrance and they aren’t kidding when they say warm cotton. This smells like straight up fresh laundry. Not a bad smell at all, but not something I’d like to wear on my skin. However, I’m using this as a room fragrance and loving the fresh laundry scent.

Overall, a great Sephora box, though I’m not quite as enthused as I was with July’s. Still, can’t really complain.

With Boxycharm being the only box that was slightly underwhelming on first impression, August was pretty great for beauty subscriptions!

Leave a Reply

