May 2016 Birchbox Review #3: Model Co. Lip Lacquer Lipgloss

image
The smallest lipgloss sample ever…minus those absurd lip sample packets from certain brands.

Matte liquid lipsticks have been reigning over the lip market for the past two years. I love the super matte lip look, but it can get a little mundane. Not to mention, super drying for the lips. This summer, however, lipgloss made its comeback. I’ve had a love/hate relationship with lip gloss since I started wearing makeup mainly because the formulas available when I was a teenager were sticky and super heavy feeling. I still cringe at that sensation and heavily associate it with lipgloss.

Any time I try a new gloss, I go in assuming that it’s going to be this horrible heavy curtain of stickiness. This is despite me knowing that formulas have improved so much since my teenage days of sparkly gloss. (I swear, there was a glitter explosion in the early 2000s.)

In May’s box, I received the Model Co. Lip Laquer in the shade Creme Brûlée (USD $24.00, full size). The gloss is suppose to be fully opaque and deliver a hydrating formula. From the description, this is my preferred type of lipgloss. Even though shimmery lipgloss is making a comeback in the fall, my preferred finishes are either sheer or a solid color with no shimmer. Though I will say that ColourPop put out some beautiful metallic finish glosses that I really enjoy. I also like that it’s hydrating because some glosses can weirdly dry out the lips. How? I have no clue.

This is a straight nude colored gloss — no pink or peach undertones, just a true nude.I’ve seen Kim Kardashian West rock the super nude lip gloss for a long time and been envious of the fact that I’ve never been able to pull it off. I was hoping this color would finally let me see if I could make a true nude glossy lip work

image
A very true nude, indeed.

The Creme Brûlée color itself is stunning. For a true nude, this did not wash me out. However, I do suggest wearing this only if you have other makeup on your face or else it might wash you out.

True to its description, Model Co.’s Lip Lacquer did go on with full opacity. One swipe and I had the color I wanted. There was no patchiness, which is the number one thing you don’t want with a solid color gloss.

Luckily, the formula on this was very lightweight, nonsticky, and hydrating. It felt so incredibly comfortable and I totally forgot I was wearing it. It’s truly a beautiful formula. However, I do have one complaint.

At first, I thought this was because I hadn’t properly exfoliated my lips, but this still happened when I retested. After a couple of hours of wear, I noticed a white ring forming along my inner lip. I suspect that the white in the formula began to separate from some of the other color.

That’s the only thing that’s keeping me from repurchasing this lipgloss. I’m not a fan of ending up with that ring. It might not be a deal breaker for someone else, as you can easily fix it. But it was annoying enough for me to not want to repurchase, especially since I don’t have this problem with a lot of the other gloss I own, both more affordable and high end.

Bottom line: Model Co. offers a stunning nude gloss color that doesn’t wash out my tan complexion. The formula is incredibly comfortable. If they were to correct the whole white ring situation, I would love to try this again.

If you’d like to subscribe to Birchbox, follow the link!

 

Leave a Reply

