Ipsy Review: Jersey Shore Spa Moisture Rich Hydrating Balm

image
Laveder lip balm? Hmm…

Jersey Shore Spa is a brand I learned about through Ipsy. They sent me their Vanilla Bean Hand Scrub a couple of months back and I really did enjoy that. This is a spa and store that focuses on selling organic, all natural products. I really like trying out different organic beauty lines to see which ones deliver great natural options. I know not everyone is on board with the synthetic materials in beauty products and I always get excited when I recommend good alternatives.

This time around, Ipsy sent an interesting product. I know people love their lavender, but I’m not so sure how well it works out in a lip product. That’s what I got this time, the Jersey Shore Spa Moisture Rich Hydrating Balm in Lavender (USD $10.00, full size).

Lavender has never really been a favorite scent of mine, so before I talk about the scent I’m going to focus on the formula.

For the $10 price point, which accounts for the organic ingredients and formulation you are getting a pretty great balm. My personal favorite lip balm is Nivea’s A Kiss of Smoothness, because it hydrates my lips without leaving them feeling greasy. This natural alternative has the same sense of being lightweight and hydrating on the lips. It’s not going to give you a deep hydration, but for daily use it’s pretty great. If you’re not a fan of petroleum in your balms, you’ll appreciate that this formula has none. It did, however, feel a wee bit more greasy than my Nivea, but not so much that it bothered me.

Now, the scent. This is going to be a bit tricky because I simply do not like lavender. Having said that, if you enjoy lavender I think you’ll like this because it can also be used as a solid perfume. The scent does stick around for a while, so as a solid perfume it does perform well. However, because the scent does stick around it made it a bit unbearable for me to wear. It’s not immediately overpowering, but having something lavender scented so close to my nose did eventually get to me. Since this is meant to be worn as a lip balm, I think it could have been more enjoyable had it been a “vanilla lavender” or “honey lavender” scent. Basically, I needed a complimentary scent to balance out all the floral.

I checked out their website and they do have other scents in the spa and kids versions that sound much more up my alley (chocolate, peppermint, strawberry, and even pumpkin spice!).

Bottom line: While the scent wasn’t for me, I was impressed by their all natural formula. Not all natural makeup is a hit, but I did enjoy this lip balm for daytime use. It’s not quite nourishing for me to use on my lips at night (I prefer something heavier, like Aquaphor), but as an everyday lip balm the formula was great.

If you’d like to subscribe to Ipsy, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

