Boxycharm Review: Makeup Geek Powder Blush

image
One of my favorite Boxycharm contributors.

If there’s an online cosmetics brand I highly respect, it’s got to be Makeup Geek. (No shade to other online indie brands, as there are plenty of others I adore). I think Makeup Geek is a great role model for up and coming brands. They provide high quality products, cater to a wide range of skin tones, and always keep their customers first, accepting feedback on new products with an open mind. I also have mad respect for Marlena’s hustle. She’s one of the hardest working ladies in the makeup field.

I say all this because with all the Instagram brands and influencer affiliates, it’s become harder and harder for the consumer to separate the trustworthy brands from the gimmicky ones out to make a quick buck. Makeup Geek definitely falls in the former category.

Since a lot of these “Instabrands” do end up in Boxycharm and other subscription services, you can imagine my excitement to see, not just another Makeup Geek product, but a recently launched product, in the box.

This past summer, Makeup Geek added Powder Blushes (USD $15.00 for compact, $10.00 for pans). Right before they made these available to the public, Boxycharm subscribers got to try these out in the May box. This was a great idea, both for Makeup Geek and Boxycharm. Boxycharm subscribers got early access to a new product from a well known brand, and Makeup Geek got some early feedback right before the release.

Makeup Geek (and other brands, I might add), if you’d like to do this again, I know the Boxycharm community would love it!

image
Great packaging.

Getting into the blush itself, right off the bat there are two things I love. Looking at the website, the first thing I can appreciate is that there is a tremendous range of colors that will flatter all color preferences and skin tones. For example, if you’re looking for a nude blush, you’ll see that Makeup Geek doesn’t offer just one or two nudes, but several that flatter porcelain, fair, medium, tan, and deep complexions. That’s amazing.

Next, the packaging. The purple gunmetal compact is just beautiful, and I love that they chose to have a magnetic closure (my favorite). It has great weight to it, is well constructed, and feels so luxurious. I easily feel like I’m holding a $30 blush instead of a $15. You also have a nice mirror inside, so you can throw it in your bag and use to touch up your makeup on the go.

If there’s something I would have liked to have seen in the packaging, it would have been a blush compact that allows me to switch up the pan. Of course, I’m not sure if this is feasible, but I think it could have been neat to see a magnetic compact (à la Z palette) that would allow you to pop different pans in and out as you use them. But that’s just me speculating. As is, the compact they offer is just lovely.

image
The color XOXO is a gorgeous watermelon pink.

There were a few color variations, and I received the shade XOXO. Makeup Geek describes this as a “watermelon pink with a matte finish” that is best suited for a medium skin tone. I’d say they got the description spot on.

In the picture, my skin tone was tan leaning more towards medium since it was May and I had yet to spend a lot of time outside in the summer sun. The swatch you’re looking at was done with my Tarte blush brush. As you can see, that’s a ton of pigment! On my medium tan skin, it was really coming off as a watermelon pink, which is perfect for the spring and summer. I only needed to dip my brush into the pan once to get the true color to show up.

Throughout the summer, as my complexion got more tan, I was still able to wear the blush. If I applied it as I did at the beginning of the summer, I’d have a nice pink flush to the skin. In order to get more color payoff, I just had to dip back in once more.

image
Pretty in pink.

The swatch might look a little intimidating, but trust me when I say the blush formula was very easy to work with.

Yes, there’s a lot of pigmentation but since the formula of the powder is soft, the blush is very easy to blend into the skin. You won’t end up with clown cheeks, though this particular color might be too strong for people with very porcelain skin. I use synthetic brushes, which work well with this formula. As you can see, I ended up with a nice watermelon pink flush on the skin that looks natural and pretty.

(FYI: This formulation is talc and paraben free, for those who are conscious or have sensitivities. It is also cruelty free, though I do not see a vegan claim.)

image
A closer look at the color.

Matte blushes are also very much in style, so I appreciate that Boxycharm included a product that had an on trend finish and color. I also like that these blushes are matte, because it allows me to apply a separate highlight to build my own glow and not look like a greasy mess.

The matte formulation also has some great staying power. I could get this to last about 5 hours before I noticed some color fading. It was nothing a quick touch up couldn’t fix if, say, you wore this to work and then went out for drinks. While not the longest lasting blush I own, it’s still solid.

Pan sizes are also great. You’re getting 0.15 oz of product, which is about as much as a NARS Blush (0.16 oz), though smaller than a Becca or Tarte blush (0.2 oz). Plenty of product that will be hard to get through. (Honestly, I almost never go through a whole blush pan.)

Bottom Line: Makeup Geek continues to hit it out the park. These blushes are a fantastic addition to their product lineup. The soft formula is pigmented and blendable, with good lasting power. The color range is envy worthy, with perfect shades in different color families for all people of color (something I hold in high regard). This is absolutely a great product in which to invest your money.

If you’d like to subscribe to Boxycharm, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

