Boxycharm Review: Ella + Mila Nail Polish

image
That label is adorable!

When subscription services get nail polishes right, it’s such a good thing. (When they get them wrong, they’re just plain terrible.) Boxycharm definitely nailed it with this pretty pastel green shade from Ella + Mila (Pistache, USD $10.50 full size).

image
The packaging continues to be adorable. I just love that elephant.

Ella + Mila describes their nail polishes as being 7 free, which means it’s free of certain “bad ingredients” that can be found in other polishes. They’re also cruelty free, vegan, and certified by PeTa. If you’re an ingredient conscience shopper, this might be a good nail polish brand to try out. The price range puts it just 50 cents above OPI, putting this in the high end category.

The bottle and color were absolutely irresistible, so I couldn’t wait to put this on my nails.

image
A sage neutral green color.

The polish applied really well, especially for a pastel finish. I find that most pastel polishes can apply streaky. I got to full opacity with this one in two coats, which is exactly what I want. I’ll do three coats if need be, but rather not since the polish doesn’t last as long.

Over time, the polish had good staying power. Unlike a lot of other pastel or “cream” finish nail polishes, this one didn’t have a huge color cracking issues. That’s when the polish starts to break up into cracks under the top coat. I really appreciate that, as some of my most beloved pastel and cream shades still give me unsightly cracks after a few days.

image
I’m surprised at how much I like this!

Now, the website does say that the staying power of this polish is akin to gel manicures. I’m going to disagree and say that’s a bold claim. This definitely is not comparable to a gel manicure. However, I did get about 8 days wear time before I felt the need to take it.

For a $10, that’s the exact staying power I’m looking for.

Final thoughts: This was a great polish to get in Boxycharm. The color was modern and on trend, and the formula absolutely gorgeous. With the variety of colors this brand has to offer, this is a great ingredient conscious, vegan alternative to the more mainstream polish brands.

If you’d like to try Boxycharm, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

