Elizabeth Mott Show Me Your Cheeks Blush in Peach Pink

image
Blush pans are a great way to build up your Z palette collection.

I love it when my samples are space savers. Having four beauty subscriptions, I build up a substantial amount of makeup samples. If I can easily store them, it’s a huge bonus, which is why I love receiving products that come just in the pan. This can be annoying to makeup new comers who don’t know about the wonders of the magnetic palette. As your makeup collection grows, you’ll really begin to appreciate pan makeup samples.

But enough about pans. Let’s look at this blush. Elizabeth Mott is one of those brands you probably have never heard of, but is in every subscription service. I don’t mind this, as I love discovering what brands exist outside of Sephora and Ulta. There are a lot of online brands that have now become cult favorites in the beauty community. This particular brand is focused on making Korean-inspired beauty items, taking from the South Korean trends and aesthetic.

If you go the Korean beauty route, you’re going to get soft, feminine looks with pops of color. It’s a really pretty aesthetic, especially for those who don’t like heavy amounts of makeup.

I received the Show Me Your Cheeks Blush in Peach Pink (USD $23.00, full size). This is suppose to be a creamy formula that gives long-lasting color. Swatching the blush, it definitely feels very creamy. It’s not stiff like Tarte blushes and is even creamier than Makeup Geek pans. I’m actually surprised they can make something so soft and claim that it’s long lasting.

image
Completely unrelated to the blush, I kind of miss my summer balayage.

Now, what I like about this blush is that it does deliver a soft flush that’s more natural looking than some of the more intense blushes. The peachy pink color stays more towards Korean beauty trends and away from the current American trend of muted, but pigmented 90s colors. The satin finish also gives a dewy radiance consistent with Korean beauty aesthetics (versus the current matte American trend). It definitely lives up to its mission statement of bringing Korean aesthetic to the US.

The blush does apply beautifully, sitting well on foundation. However, for a true Korean beauty look, I recommend pairing this with a BB of CC cream for a natural look. While I can get a good 6 hour wear out of this blush, the softness definitely prevents it from being more long lasting. You’re not going to get as much wear time as a Tarte Amazonian Clay blush, but that’s not a deal breaker for me. You can easily touch this up.

image
Great for a pinky summer look.

Final thoughts: This is a really nice blush. It’s a great formula that blends well into the skin and gives a soft, natural looking flush. For anyone looking to follow the Korean trend, this is definitely a product you’ll want to check out.

Having said all that…I have a tiny beef with Ipsy over the color selection that was put in our bags. Normally, Ipsy is very good at sending me makeup items that show up on my tan skin tone. This shade of blush, however, definitely didn’t take into account those of us on the medium-tan to deep end of the spectrum. I could make this blush color work, but I really had to build it up to get the payoff on my skin tone. And this was before I had gotten any significant summer tan. I checked Elizabeth Mott’s website and saw that they also offered a deeper pigmented coral color that would have been a better choice for their deeper skin subscribers. Of course, I understand that brands will typically only offer samples in certain colors, but Ipsy definitely missed the mark putting this shade in the bags of subscribers with tan complexions.

It’s a rare miss, but something to note. I ended up passing on this sample because I have other blushes that give me a similar effect but whose shades give me better color payoff.

If you’d like to subscribe to Ipsy, follow the link!

 

Leave a Reply

