Soap & Glory Face Soap & Clarity Vitamin C Facial Wash

image
This isn’t Soap & Glory’s best offering…

From a great skincare product to one I didn’t love as much. If you haven’t heard of the Soap & Glory brand, you will soon. This is a well known UK brand that’s priced at the higher end of drug store level. They started out in body and skin care and are now expanding into cosmetics (FYI, their Kickass Powder is my holy grail touchup and setting powder). Here in the US, you can find the Soap & Glory brand at drugstores in more metropolitan areas or at Ulta.

What’s eye catching about Soap & Glory is their cute packaging with cheeky names and slogans. I’ve been dabbling into their products this year. Like many drugstore body and skincare brands, I’ve had some hits and misses. For instance, I absolutely love their Breakfast Body Scrub and Righteous Butter, but am still on the fence on their Clean On Me Shower Gel.

Despite some misses, I do really enjoy this brand and love trying out their stuff. I was stoked when I saw they were collaborating with Ipsy. I received the Face Soap and Clarity Facial Wash (USD $12.00, full size 11.8 oz). First thoughts: you get a ton of product for a relatively good price. This is definitely at the more affordable end of skin care.

If you look on Ulta’s website, you’ll see that this cleanser has almost a perfect 5 star review score from users. That was extremely promising. Those that tried this out said it was a good clarifying cleanser that didn’t dry out their skin, which is exactly what I look for in a cleanser.

The first thing I noticed when using the cleanser was the overwhelming “fresh” scent it had. It wasn’t a bad scent, but as you can see from my previous posts I’m not a huge fan of fragrance in my daily skincare products. If it’s a mask I use occasionally, I’m more forgiving. But daily exposure to fragrance on my face? Pass. Daily exposure to fragrance will make my skin feel overly sensitive.

The good news is that this cleanser is not drying, especially for combination/oily skin. It does a good job of cleaning the face without having it feel overly stripped. Granted, my skin did feel slightly tighter than it does when I use my Cerave Foaming Facial Cleanser, but not dried out.

The bad news is that, as predicted, the fragrance in the cleanser did begin to trigger sensitivity. There wasn’t any externally visible irritation, but my skin did start to feel slightly stingy to the touch. I’m not a fan of having my face feel tender, especially since it can make applying other skincare and makeup unpleasant.

Looking at the ingredient list, I’m not overly impressed with what I’m seeing. I know it’s an “affordable” cleanser, but Cerave also falls into that category and they pack some pretty great skincare ingredients into their cleanser, while only being 99 cents more expensive.

Bottom Line: This is a definitely pass for me. While it had some promising reviews online, Soap & Glory’s Clarity Facial Wash just misses the mark. It does do a good job of cleansing the skin without being too drying, but unfortunately the amount of fragrance in the cleanser just triggers too much skin sensitivity. For now, I’m going to stick with my usual cleanser. Soap & Glory does have some great products in their line, but this didn’t work out.

If you’d like to subscribe to Ipsy, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

