Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow

image
When luxe brands give out tiny samples.

Everyone knows that when Urban Decay does shadows well, it’s a pretty amazing makeup experience. Urban Decay was the first high end brand I ever bought. I was 13 when I purchased their single eyeshadow in Baked, which is still one of my favorite shades. Ipsy included these sample size pans from their singles. I received the shade Lounge (USD $19.00, full size). This is an iridescent shadow that’s classified as one of UD’s shimmer shades. It does have a slight duo chrome quality to it, reflecting between green and red.

Of course, I have to chuckle at the teeny tiny size of this shadow pan. But honestly, it would take me a while to go through a shade like this anyway. Rest assured that if you buy the full size, you’ll get a very decent sized pan that will last you.

Now, I did have a small snafu with my shadow sample. It happens from time to time, but my sample arrived broken. Luckily, I have some empty acrylic pots on hand just in case I shatter any of my eyeshadows and am unable to press them back into the pan. So, when I sampled the shadow I did so with it in a non pressed form.

image
This sheers out on the lids to a pretty, soft rust with a green shift.

It speaks well of UD that I got this shadow to work for me even as a broken shadow. It did lose a little bit of its pigmentation potential, but I really enjoyed the soft look I was able to great with the crushed shadow.

I wish I had my HD camera on hand when I did this to capture the true color. My phone camera washes out the color a bit to look more brown. In reality, what I got was a shadow that looked like a natural rusty brown, but when it caught the light shifted to green. I absolutely love it.

image
Buttery, buttery shadows.

What I love about the Urban Decay formula is how easy it is to smooth out and blend them over the lid. It’s what made me fall in love with them all those years ago. It’s not quite as buttery and soft as a Lorac or Anastasia Beverly Hills palette. However, it’s not super stiff. It actually has a good balance and eliminates a lot of the fallout you can get from lines with softer formulas. This quality almost always transfers to their permanent palette shadows (the Naked series is well loved for good reason), though some limited edition editions don’t quite meet the expectations I have when I hear “Urban Decay shadow”.

image
Missing that summer ombre.

Seriously, my pictures aren’t doing this shadow justice. Lounge is an incredibly beautiful color.

The only thing I would mention is that this is a pretty dupable color. Makeup Geek has a similar color for a couple of bucks less. So if it’s this particular color you’re lusting after, unless you only like the UD formula, you can find similar and more affordable dupes.

Bottom line: What can I say? Urban Decay single shadows speak for themselves. They have 85 shades for you to choose from in different finishes. Whether you reach for a single or a (permanent) palette, you won’t be disappointed by the pigmentation. This is great, because it means people with deeper skin tones will find shadows that will show up beautifully.

Going back to that little broken sample problem, I want to take a moment to commend Ipsy on their amazing customer service. The same day I received my glam bag, I contacted them to let them know about the broken sample. They apologized and immediately put in an order for a replacement sample. I thought, per my past experience, it would take a couple of days for the replacement to ship.

Nope.

It shipped within an hour of my contacting them. My replacement arrived three days later. I was just blown away by how amazing they were! If I ever have to deal with them again, I’ll know to expect great service.

If you’d like to subscribe to Ipsy, follow the link!

2 thoughts on “Urban Decay Lounge Eyeshadow

Leave a Reply

