Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick

img_4019
Another treasure in the beauty community.

Stila was offering matte liquid lipsticks way before they went viral in the beauty community. These days, every brand is offering their take on the trend made popular by Kylie Jenner.

Personally, I love a good matte lipstick. I also enjoy the occasional liquid lipstick, though I’m more picky about the formulas I go for. My first introduction to liquid lipsticks was also through Stila (and Birchbox), but this is before they were truly popular and I didn’t understand how they worked. This was also back when the shades offered were much brighter. I received a color that ended up looking clownish orange. Needless to say, I was not impressed.

Luckily, I didn’t give up on liquid lipsticks and got to try many more formulas and colors. Now, given the right formula and shade, I love them. Stila’s Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick (USD $24.00, full size) is very well known in the beauty community. The formula is one that people either rave about or don’t like at all.

I got to give Stila a second chance when the shade Patina was included in a Birchbox. Patina is a cult favorite dusty rose shade that you can find all over Instagram and YouTube. I can see why. It’s just muted enough to be a good neutral without washing out the skin. The dusty rose shade is a bit pinker on tan and deep complexions, yet still works wonderfully.

img_4086
Ah, last year’s summer tan. How I miss it so.

I have nothing bad to say about this shade. The color payoff is wonderful and I got full opacity with just one stroke. I don’t think that’s constant across all shades (you tend to get more patchiness with the lighter and darker colors), but there were no streaks in this neutral.

This is an especially great shade if you want to wear an on trend muted color, but don’t want to venture into the concealer colored nudes or the more cool toned gray/taupe shades. It’s safe, but not boring.

img_4087
Yes, yes. I admit the hype around this color is real.

Now as for the formula. There are some very polarizing views. Some people say that it’s one of the best formulas out there. Others say it’s way too drying. I’m somewhere in the middle.

Whether you like this formula is going to depend on what you want out of a liquid lipstick. This is not the thinnest, drying formula I’ve ever tried. While thinner in comparison to OFRA or Lonely Planet (which are more mousse like), it’s still whipped enough that I don’t cringe when I put it on. Now, because it’s slightly thinner it’s not going to be as moisturizing or comfortable as the more mousse like liquid lipstick.

That being said, Stila’s formula wore really comfortably on me for about 6 hours. I’d say it’s a step above the Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in comfort.

Because it was a little thinner, it had a bit more staying power and did fade quite nicely. Of course, after several hours of wear I started noticing some breaking down around the inside of the lip. I personally prefer fully removing a liquid lip and applying a new coat versus layering. But I did try to layer in the areas that had faded and it did apply well. There was bit of residue, but nothing I couldn’t brush out once the new coat had dried.

So while this isn’t my favorite liquid lipstick formula (that title belongs to both Smashbox and Lonely Planet), it’s still solid.

Bottom line: If you’re looking for a true powder matte finish, but need something with a bit more comfort, I would try out Stila’s liquid lipstick. Though it doesn’t have the same staying power as the more drying formulas, the finish is beautiful and will feel better on the lips while still lasting a good bit. You can layer it as it fades, though I don’t recommend doing this with any liquid lipstick. And yes, Patina is just as beautiful a shade as everyone claims it is. It’s one of those nudes that’s going to be extremely universal, from the fairest to richest complexion.

I received my sample through Birchbox*. If you’d like to sign up, you can do so here.

*Quick update on my Birchbox subscription. Just as I was contemplating saying good-bye Birchbox has offered another option. For and additional $7 per month for monthly subscriber and $6 for yearly subscribers, you can now get access to a “premium subscription”. What this means is (from Birchbox):

  • Monthly Category Choice: Select a product category you’d like to receive a sample from in your next box and/or a product category you’d like to exclude (i.e. “Send me a cleanser this month, skip the shampoo!”). The samples themselves will still be a surprise!
  • Beauty Fix-It Boxes: Choose from a selection of curated boxes filled with samples that address specific beauty needs (i.e. acne-prone skin or frizzy hair). Try out something you’ve had your eye on—or give a new trend a go! You can opt to receive one of these boxes instead of your personalized box.
  • Swap for Points: Opt to receive Birchbox Points in place of your Birchbox for that month. We’ll add your Points (matching the value of your monthly subscription payment) into your account on the 1st of the month.
  • Exclusive Shop Discounts: As part of the premium subscription you will get adiscount on the full size versions of the samples you receive so you can save on new and familiar favorites.
  • Fast Track to ACE status: Your monthly subscription counts towards your dollars spent towards ACE status, so you’ll get there quicker with a premium subscription.

Very interesting. Also, I didn’t know they had taken away having the subscription count towards ACE status in the regular subscriptions. Way to be shady again, Birchbox. I’m intrigued by what they’re offering. I’ve already switched my subscription from yearly to monthly, so I’ll have to shell out the extra money. However, I’m willing to see if this makes the boxes any better. But at $17 a month, this is getting into Boxycharm price territory. And they at least offer full sized products. Plus, Sephora keeps their box at $10 (plus tax) and still counts what you spend on Play towards rewards points/VIB status. We’ll have to see just how this plays out.

In all honesty, unless Birchbox starts offering more sample variety and brings back some form of their reviews for reward points system, I’m not really seeing how this will be enough to tempt people into coming back.

2 thoughts on “Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick

Leave a Reply

