March 2017 Boxycharm!

IMG_4792
Boxycharm is on a roll!

It’s time to unbox my favorite beauty subscription! Boxycharm has been setting the bar high for 2017 from the get go. January: amazing. February: even better. March couldn’t possibly be as good.

Oh, just you wait.

I was excited for March from the first sneak peak. (Are you one of those people who needs the sneak peaks? I’m so nosy and love how My Subscription Addiction gives out spoilers.) The theme for this month is Creepy Cute. Boxycharm has finally had themes that correlate with the items in the box. However, this box didn’t exactly have items I would associate with “Creepy Cute”. I think more pastels or outlandish and adventurous colors or bolder choices in makeup items. Aside from one item, this isn’t exactly what was in the box. Still, it was a pretty beautiful selection.

Let’s take a look.

IMG_4791
A palette for someone building up their bolder colors.

Naked Cosmetics Urban Rustic Trio Pressed Eyeshadow Palette (USD $39.99)

Naked Cosmetics is really making a comeback in the beauty space. Their pigments use to be the hype of YouTube back in the old days, and now they’re creeping back into subscription boxes.

And I’m not mad. Their loose pigments are really great. These pressed pigment colors look really great on first impression. Granted, you can’t really use these together, but I think they’re meant to be complemented by a matte, neutral palette or colors. I do think these colors are great for people just dipping their toes into non neutral colors. You have an olive green, a rusty orange, and a reddish purple, all with a metallic/shimmery finish.

I think this palette may put off some people, but for a makeup enthusiast like me, I love getting something so exciting, yet wearable, to add to my collection.

IMG_4790
An interesting tool I’ve been dying to try.

Crown Brush SS023 Deluxe Fan Brush (USD $18.99)

You know how much I love my beauty tools! And a complexion one? YES.

I’ve seen this jumbo kabuki style fan brush floating around the internet and have been intrigued. While I like using more precise brushes for highlight (I only use traditional fan brushes for really strong formulas), I think it could be great for applying and blending contour and bronzer.

Crown brushes aren’t my favorite in quality, but this one appears to be made well with soft bristles.

IMG_4789
A cult classic.

Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer (USD $16.00, travel size)

This is the OG dimethicone pore filling primer. This stuff is really good, though like any pore filling primer, I have to use it sparingly or I start getting small breakouts. Still, I’ve used it many times in the past and it’s a really great smoothing primer. I’m glad to have this deluxe size back in my collection. It will definitely get used.

IMG_4788
And even more, beautiful neutral lip colors.

Real Her Lady Love Matte Liquid Lipstick (USD $15.00) and Expert Advice Lip Liner (USD $12.50)

I really loved the traditional lipstick from Real Her I got in last month’s Boxycharm. So I was super stoked to see more lip products from this brand in March’s box. I received a set in nude colors, which are gorgeous. The liner will absolutely work on my skin tone, but I’m a little scared that the liquid lipstick will be too light on its own. However, I think blending it with the liner will make it more wearable on me. Still, I’m so excited to see Boxycharm actually offering nude and neutral lip shades!

Over all, Boxycharm continues to prove itself to be one of the best beauty subscription services currently on the market. I’m so excited for each item! Not a single one is a throwaway.

Also, I’ve noticed on Boxycharm’s website that they’ve added a profile quiz where you can tell them about your appearance and preferences. Hopefully, this will lead to better product and color matches for subscribers.

If you’d like to subscribe to Boxycharm, follow the link!

Leave a Reply

